10th Nov, 2020

Department of Telecom eases rules for other service providers

The Department of Telecom eased rules for other service providers (OSP) in the business process outsourcing (BPO) and information technology-enabled services (ITes).

OSPs are companies or firms which provide secondary or tertiary services such as telemarketing, tele-banking or telemedicine for various companies, banks or hospital chains.

The new rules remove the registration requirement for OSPs. 

Such BPOs that are engaged only in data work have been taken out of the category of OSPs altogether.

With the government recognising OSP employees as extended or remote agents, companies providing such services will no longer have to carry the additional compliance burden of providing the details of all such employees to the DoT.

There will be no need for renewal of licenses and therefore foreign companies can be invited to set up or expand their other service providing units in India.

This important change, which takes data-based OSPs completely out of the ambit of BPOs would mean that such firms can function like any other service firm without the strict and cumbersome guidelines such as presence of agent on location.

Indian diplomat elected to UN Advisory Committee On Administrative And Budgetary Questions (ACABQ)

Recently, Indian diplomat Vidisha Maitra was elected to the UN Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ). 

ACABQ is a subsidiary organ of the UN General Assembly.

The UN General Assembly appoints members of the Advisory Committee.

Members are selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience.

The Fifth Committee of the General Assembly, which deals with administrative and budgetary issues, made the recommendation 

She has been elected for a three-year term beginning January 1, 2021.

India was also elected recently to the UN Security Council as a non-permanent member for a two-year term beginning January 2021.

Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ)

ACABQ consists of 16 members appointed by the Assembly in their individual capacity.

ACABQ ensures that fund contributions to the UN system are put to good effect and that mandates are properly funded.


(1) To examine and report on the budget submitted by the Secretary-General to the General Assembly;

(2) To advise the General Assembly concerning any administrative and budgetary matters referred to it.

DRDO develops Fire Detection and Suppression System (FDSS)

The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) has developed a technology called ”Fire Detection and Suppression System (FDSS)” for passenger buses. 

FDSS technology can detect fire in buses in less than 30 seconds and extinguish it in 60 seconds thereby reducing the risk to life and property to a significant extent.

Demonstrations were given on water mist-based FDSS for passenger compartment and aerosol-based FDSS for engine fire.

The FDSS for passenger compartment comprises a water tank of 80 litre capacity, a 6.8 kg nitrogen cylinder pressurised to 200 bar installed at appropriate location in the bus.

The FDSS for engine comprises an aerosol generator with which the fire suppression could be achieved within 5 seconds of the system activation.

Anti-Satellite (A-SAT) Missile installed inside the DRDO Bhawan

Recently, Defence Minister inaugurated a model of an anti-satellite missile at the DRDO Bhawan. 

The anti-satellite missile system is seen as a symbol of national technological advancement

‘Mission Shakti’ was India’s first ever Anti-Satellite (ASAT) Missile Test successfully conducted on 27th March 2019 from Dr AP J Abdul Kalam Island in Odisha.

A fast-moving Indian orbiting target satellite in Low Earth Orbit (LEO) was neutralised with pinpoint accuracy.

This was a highly complex mission, conducted at extremely high speed with remarkable precision.

The successful conduct of Mission Shakti made India the fourth nation in the world with the capability to defend its assets in outer space.

U.S Presidential Elections

Democrat Joe Biden has been declared the winner of the 2020 US presidential election, defeating Donald Trump, to become the 46th President of the United States.

Democratic Party candidate Kamala Harris has also secured her position as the first woman to be the Vice President of the USA.

Harris, is also credited to be the first woman of Indian-American and African-American origin to be a member of the United States Senate.

The electoral college representatives elected by the popular votes will cast their votes to officially elect the new president on the 14th of next month.

The new president will thereafter assume office on the 20th of January next year after the inauguration ceremony.

Ministry Of Ports, Shipping And Waterways

Indian Prime Minister has said that the Government of India is changing the name of the Ministry of Shipping. 

It will be known as the Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways.